Passing Down Crazy

Because Sometimes the Best Thing You Can Give Your Kid is an Addiction…To Yarn

And Yet More Chaos

Leave a comment

I keep thinking life is going to calm down around here, but I think that may never happen.    In the last post, I mentioned that The Genius got a job.  Yes, that means we have a college graduate that’s employed!!!  Hallelujah!

What I didn’t tell you is that it meant moving her from Savannah, Georgia to Santa Monica, California.  We had a really busy week, with its share of stresses and fun.  She just never pictured herself living in California.   Anyway, she’s settled and started work on Monday.  We got home last Friday and I sat and stared at the wall on Saturday.  I was even too tired to knit.  That’s bad!

My sister has a new name.  Just call her Mario (as in Mario Andretti!).  She drove The Genius’ car from Savannah to Santa Monica.  It’s 2,400 miles and she and one of my nieces did it in about 2 1/2 days. And she thought it was fun.  See????  Crazy does run in my family.

There hasn’t been much knitting.  I finished the ruffle and bound off this little scarf on the plane ride across the country!

This is Barb’s Koigu Ruffle scarf.  I first saw the pattern at Churchmouse Yarn in Bainbridge, WA.  It’s a really fun, brainless knit and a great way to use a skein of sock yarn.  I used two skeins of Koigu.  It sat around half finished for about a year because I lost the pattern.  A couple of weeks ago, I cleaned my bedroom and found it.

I started another project that was intended to be brainless knitting.

The pattern is Fiar by Irish Girlie Knits.  She and The Plucky knitter got together and sold kits for this project.  I had lots of Plucky Knitter fingering yarn in my stash from being a part of one of her clubs, so I just chose five skeins on my own.  It’s a cowl that’s knit in the round.  I think I started it three times because I kept twisting the cast on when I joined it.  It’s finally on track and now it’s brainless.

Have you noticed the “brainless” theme here?  It seems as if that’s all I’m capable of right now!

The other project I’m working on is the secret baby sweater.  The body is done and I’m working on the sleeves.  I need to keep moving on it, because it’s a “Some Assembly Required” sweater.  I also need to hurry up because the mama is looking like this!!!  I think she’s the most beautiful pregnant woman!

And now for the weekend…..Superblonde is graduating from high school tomorrow night. Life is just flying, but it’s all good.  There have been lots of big decisions around here, but God has and continues to order all of our steps!  That surely makes it easier for this Mom to rest easy!  It’s tough on My Hero too.  He’d like to keep all of his chicks at home forever!

Ok, time to hit the grocery store.  There has been some complaining around here about a lack of food.  Do they really need to eat every single day?

Author: mariajhmom

I'm a wife, mom, quilter, knitter, and spinner. I blog at https://passingdowncrazy.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

