Passing Down Crazy

Because Sometimes the Best Thing You Can Give Your Kid is an Addiction…To Yarn

Yarn Fumes

Leave a comment

One day while we were in Texas, My Hero and a bunch of assorted cousins and adults decided to go to an indoor trampoline place.  That left Mom and I to do what we wanted to do.  So we headed to MadTosh.  Yes, it’s a new yarn store opened by the people that produce Madelinetosh yarn.  Can you imagine a whole shop of that stuff???

Mom and I headed out and stopped for lunch.  I can’t concentrate on yarn when my stomach is rumbling.  Then it was just a quick jaunt to Fort Worth.  I can’t tell you how much fun it was to see that much Madelinetosh yarn in one place.  They also carry other brands of yarn, as well as quilting supplies, and a little bit of roving.

My big purchase was the yarn to make Norma, from the latest issue of Knitty.  I immediately fell in love with the pattern, so I was on a quest.  I ended up with Twist DK in Cousteau.

The color is way bright on this photo.  It’s a deep teal that almost looks like there’s black in it.  I’ll have to do another photo shoot when the sun isn’t shining so brightly.

After we got back to Mom’s, I quickly wound two skeins, so I could get started.  This photo was taken yesterday before NASCAR, so I have a lot more done now.

Isn’t that a great pattern?  The yarn is so soft and springy.  I’m really enjoying this project.  I have absolutely no idea where this blanket is going to live, because it doesn’t match anything in my house.  I don’t care.  I love it and I want to knit it!

Our trip was a lot of fun, but it feels so good to be home.  I have lots of projects that I want to tackle in the next few months.  There’s a quilt ready to go on the longarm.  I really need to dig out my sewing room.  There will be spinning as well as more knitting.  And then there’s the usual kid stuff.

There’s no place like home.

 

Author: mariajhmom

I'm a wife, mom, quilter, knitter, and spinner. I blog at https://passingdowncrazy.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

