Passing Down Crazy

Because Sometimes the Best Thing You Can Give Your Kid is an Addiction…To Yarn

The Old and The New


Wow!  How did it get to be 2013?  Life just continues to fly by, doesn’t it?

I haven’t even looked at what I completed for projects in 2012.  In fact, I’m guessing my completed projects page is hopelessly incomplete.  Maybe I’ll fix it today, or maybe not!

I do have a couple of 2012 finishes to show you.  First up is Sartorial.  It was a three week mystery cowl from Star Athena.  The yarn was De-Vine from Blue Moon Fiber Arts.  Yep!  I got sucked in by Tina and her gorgeous yarn again.

I’m not in love with this cowl.  I love the yarn and it was fun to knit, but I just don’t think I’ll wear it.  Good thing I’m a process knitter.

This was a really quick scarf to knit up!  It’s called Twist and Flounce.  It’s knit with Plucky Bulky.  I don’t remember what the color was called, and I’m too lazy to look for it.  This one is being gifted to a mom that needs a hug.  I really enjoy knitting a project for someone and taking that time to pray for them.


This finish makes me really happy.  I love it!!!  Introducing Fiar.

I think I’ll wait and do a better post on her once it’s off the floor in my bathroom.  I’ve mentioned before that I love blocking finished projects.  I’ve been trying to put my house back in order after the Christmas break, and every time I walked into my bathroom yesterday, this made me smile.  It’s lined up so perfectly.  It’s in order!!!

And…there’s something else blocking.  I’ll do a detailed post on that soon as well.


For those of you that are wondering why I block stuff in my bathroom, I will tell you why.  Two words.  Heated floors.  Stuff dries really quickly!

It looks to me like I need to knit something other than stuff that goes around my neck.  I do wear a lot of this kind of thing, but I only have one neck.  I’m getting old, but not old enough to grow my own turtleneck yet.  (That was a book written by a Christian comedian, but it’s out of print.)

While I’m thinking about it, I’m going to make a list of stuff I’m going to blog about in the near future.  That way I won’t forget.

1.  One, possibly two, scrap quilts.

2.  A sweater I dug out of the back of the drawer.  I think I started it ten or twelve years ago.

3.  A new pet in our house.  Frankie is in heaven.

4.  New spinning stuff.

5.  How about a few new recipes I’ve tried that are yummy?

Anything else you want to hear about?  I haven’t complained about laundry, although that’s the plan for tomorrow.

Tonight I’m feeding 25 kids, so I better get busy!!!


Author: mariajhmom

I'm a wife, mom, quilter, knitter, and spinner. I blog at

9 thoughts on “The Old and The New

  1. Happy New Year, Maria! I have enjoyed following your adventures in 2012 and look forward to seeing what you have in store for 2013. You are always a great inspiration!

    Where did you get your blocking boards? I have been looking to replace some that I recently lost, and the ones you use look perfect for my needs. Amen to heated floors! I think they were originally designed by a knitter needing to speed up the blocking process. :)

    Joan in Alaska

    • knitpicks,com has them, but so does building supply stores. They’re used quite often for play room flooring. I’ve seen them at Lowe’s and Home Depot — although usually in bright colors.

  2. So Sorry to hear about Frankie…Carolyn in Iowa

    • oh…I love your knitting projects. Someday I hope to be ablt to learn how to knit! for now I will just admire your skills!

  3. I’ve been looking at: which looks quite similar to your BMFA cowl above, but I like the scrunched look. Plus it’s WW yarn that should knit up FAST. All your stuff is pretty colors.

    Please reassure Carolyn about Frankie — I believe she read that wrong!

  4. What colorway did you use for Sartorial?? I absolutely love it!

  5. Thanks for the heated floor tip!
    I appreciate you allowing us to share in your life—your family, your travels and your creations.
    You bring something special to my life.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers