Passing Down Crazy

Because Sometimes the Best Thing You Can Give Your Kid is an Addiction…To Yarn

What’s Up, Monday?

Leave a comment

Happy Monday afternoon!  The kids are still all on spring break for one more day, but none of them are home at the moment.  It’s a sure sign that they’re all growing up!

I spent some time this morning finishing the last few rows of a shawl.  I bound off, buried two tails, and threw it in the sink.  Here’s my bathroom floor.

I promise the sweater is much prettier in person!!!  More on both of them when they’re dry!

I did finish one shawl last week.  This is Ashby.  It’s a Brooklyn Tweed book from 2011.

The yarn is Madelinetosh Tosh Vintage in the colorway Tomato.  I was a little concerned that it would be too stiff, because this yarn has a lot of twist, but it softened up beautifully when I blocked it.  I did use more yarn than the pattern specified.  I noticed on Ravelry that lots of people made that comment, so I went back to the yarn shop and got one more skein.  I’m so glad I did, because I needed it, and the yarn shop is in California.

The border was knit first, and then stitches were picked up to do the center triangle.  One complaint I saw on Ravelry was that it was hard to wear.  It did end up being almost an equilateral triangle, so that may be a problem.  I haven’t worn it yet, but when I tried it on, I felt like a shawl pin would be a big help to make it comfortable!

 

I love the way the stitches travelled.  All in all, it was a really fun project to knit, and because I knit most of it while staying with The Genius, it has happy memories associated with it too!

Work on the Ginormous quilt is progressing, although slowly right now.  I inserted an element in it that puts me in contention for moron of the year!  I’ll have something pretty cool to show soon!

I have a tendency when I’m working on a major project to get totally one tracked.  I sewed a few sets of bridesmaids dresses a bunch of years ago, and my house would end up trashed, and my family about starved!  I’m really making it a point to make sure my family is fed, the house is picked up, and laundry is done.

I’ve also tried to make time to do a little bit of knitting and spinning.  There has been almost no spinning and very little knitting.  Two of these finishes were done before I started the quilt.

Actually, I’m going to go spin for a bit and then it’s off to the sewing room.  Dinner is planned as well!

Happy Monday, everyone.

Author: mariajhmom

I'm a wife, mom, quilter, knitter, and spinner. I blog at https://passingdowncrazy.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

